Wisdom

Ok, this is going to be short because I just had all my wisdom teeth pulled out, which apparently makes EVERYTHING IN YOUR BODY HURT. I didn’t know my teeth were so connected, but given my lifetime struggles with food, I’m not sure why I’m surprised.

I read this article yesterday while I was lying around being uncomfortable, eating tiny amounts of cold mashed potatoes, and feeling sorry for myself. And it really resonated with me. Especially this:

Because losing weight is a battle that is fought by inches. It is a victory won with a thousand tiny cuts. And that’s why it’s so hard for people to do it, and to do it in such a way that the weight doesn’t come back on. — Aaron Bleyaert

This is what I’m talking about! This is the slog, the unglamorous, boringness of long term weight loss that no exciting new diet can ever alleviate for us. It feels like “a THING”, when we embark on a grand new diet plan. It feels like the beginning of some great movie where you’re the hero who goes on this fantastic, hard journey and by the end is transformed. But the journey is just hard, and while you can end up transformed, there is no end. It’s like being forced to watch this movie for a month where the characters just went to work, complained about not getting enough sleep or ice cream, and occasionally vacuumed. You’d want your money back (unless it starred Paul Rudd, because he’s just utterly charming and could probably make it work), or in the case of a diet, you simply give up, because it’s no longer exciting and hard, it’s just hard.

Stop expecting long term weight loss to be exciting and easy and fast. It just isn’t, and anyone who tells you differently is selling something, probably a new diet plan. If you can really let that idea go, and be okay with letting it go, you will be successful.

Anyway, go read the article, it’s short and funny. I’m going to go eat some boring mashed potatoes now that I’ve dispensed with all my wisdom and teeth.

Leave a Reply

